Faculty

Name Credentials Title Email
Theresa Allison
Theresa Allison
MD, PhD Associate Professor of Medicine,
Associate Professor of Family & Community Medicine,
Medical Director, Home Based Primary Care, San Francisco VA Health Care System, Geriatrician, SFVAMC
Theresa.Allison@ucsf.edu
Louise Aronson
MD, MFA Professor of Medicine Louise.Aronson@ucsf.edu
John Boscardin
PhD Professor of Medicine and Biostatistics John.Boscardin@ucsf.edu
Rebecca Brown
Rebecca Brown
MD, MPH Assistant Professor of Medicine, Geriatrician, SFVAMC Rebecca.Brown@ucsf.edu
Brook Calton
Brook Calton
MD, MHS Assistant Professor of Medicine,
Palliative Care Specialist
Brook.Calton@ucsf.edu
Anna Chang
MD Professor of Medicine,
Gold-Headed Cane Endowed Education Chair in Internal Medicine,
Chair, Bridges Curriculum Clinical Skills Committee,
Associate Director, Program for the Aging Century,
Principal Investigator, Reynolds Physician Education Grant, Geriatrician, SFVAMC
Anna.Chang@ucsf.edu
Pei Chen
Pei Chen
MD Assistant Professor of Medicine,
Associate Medical Director, UCSF Center for Geriatric Care,
Coach, UCSF School of Medicine Coaching Program
Pei.Chen@ucsf.edu
Stephanie Cheng
Stephanie Cheng
MD Assistant Professor of Medicine,
Palliative Care Specialist
Stephanie.Cheng2@ucsf.edu
Anna Chodos
Anna Chodos
MD, MPH Assistant Professor of Medicine,
Co-Principal Investigator, Geriatrics Workforce Enhancement Program,
Director, Geriatrics Outpatient Consult Service, Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital
Anna.Chodos@ucsf.edu
Laura Collins MD Assistant Professor of Medicine,
Geriatrician, SFVAMC
Laura.Collins2@va.gov
Rebecca Conant MD Professor of Medicine,
Director of Development for Clinical Geriatrics,
UCSF Housecalls Physician
Rebecca.Conant@ucsf.edu
Ken Covinsky
MD, MPH Professor of Medicine,
Edmund G. Brown Sr., Distinguished Professorship in Geriatrics,
Geriatrician, SFVAMC
Ken.Covinsky@ucsf.edu
Barbara Drye MD Professor of Medicine Barbara.Drye@va.gov
Jessica Eng
Jessica Eng
MD, MS Assistant Professor of Medicine,
Geriatrician, SFVAMC,
Medical Consultant, Home Based Primary Care,
Medical Director, PACT Intensive Management
Jessica.Eng@ucsf.edu
Kathryn Eubank Kathryn Eubank MD Associate Professor of Medicine,
Medical Director, ACE Unit, (SFVAMC), Geriatrician, SFVAMC
Kathryn.Eubank@ucsf.edu
Emily Finlayson
Emily Finlayson
MD, MS Associate Professor In Residence,
Department of Surgery, Phillip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies,
Director, UCSF Center for Surgery in Older Adults

Emily.Finlayson@ucsf.edu
Lynn Flint
MD Assistant Professor of Medicine,
Geriatrician, SFVAMC, Community Living Center (SFVAMC)
Lynn.Flint2@va.gov
Abdi Ghazinouri MD Assistant Professor of Medicine Abdi.Ghazinouri@va.gov
Meredith Greene
Meredith Greene
MD Assistant Professor of Medicine,
Interim Medical Director, UCSF Care at Home
Associate Director Ward 86 Golden Compass Program
Physician in UCSF Care at Home and Ward 86 (ZSFG)
Meredith.Greene@ucsf.edu
Mike Harper
MD Professor of Medicine,
Geriatrician, SFVAMC
Michael.Harper3@va.gov
Sei Lee
MD, MAS Associate Professor of Medicine,
Geriatrician, SFVAMC,
Senior Physician Scholar, VA Quality Scholars Fellowship
Sei.Lee@ucsf.edu
Daphne Lo
MD, MAEd Assistant Professor of Medicine, Geriatrician, SFVAMC Daphne.Lo@ucsf.edu
John Newman
John Newman

MD, PhD Assistant Professor of Medicine, Geriatrician, SFVAMC Newman@ucsf.edu
Carla Perissinotto MD, MHS Associate Professor of Medicine,
Director of Outpatient Geriatrics,
UCSF Housecalls Physician
Carla.Perissinotto@ucsf.edu
Edgar Pierluissi
MD Professor of Medicine,
Medical Director, Acute Care for Elders (ACE) Unit, ZSFG
Edgar.Pierluissi@ucsf.edu
Christine Ritchie MD, MSPH, FACP, FAAHPM Professor of Medicine,
Harris Fishbon Distinguished Professorship in Clinical Translational Research in Aging
Christine.Ritchie@ucsf.edu
Josette Rivera
MD Associate Professor of Medicine,
UCSF Housecalls Physician
Josette.Rivera@ucsf.edu
Stephanie Rogers
Stephanie Rogers
MD Assistant Professor of Medicine Stephanie.Rogers@ucsf.edu
Janice Schwartz
Janice Schwartz
MD Professor of Medicine Janice.Schwartz@ucsf.edu
Alex Smith
MD, MS,
MPH
Associate Professor of Medicine,
Geriatrics and Palliative Medicine, SFVAMC
aksmith@ucsf.edu
Margarita Sotelo MD Associate Professor of Medicine,
Hospital Medicine and Division of Geriatrics, ZSFG
Margarita.Sotelo@ucsf.edu
Mike Steinman
Michael Steinman
MD Professor of Medicine,
Director of Research Training Programs, Division of Geriatrics,
Geriatrician, SFVAMC
Mike.Steinman@ucsf.edu
Rebecca Sudore MD Professor of Medicine,
Geriatrician, SFVAMC
Rebecca.Sudore@ucsf.edu
Victoria Tang
MD, MAS Assistant Professor of Medicine, UCSF Division of Geriatric Medicine,
Medical Director, UCSF Surgery Wellness Clinic,
Co-Management Hospitalist, SFVAMC Division of Hospital Medicine, Geriatrician, SFVAMC
Victoria.Tang@ucsf.edu
Louise Walter
MD Professor of Medicine,
Chief, Division of Geriatrics, 
Associate Director, UCSF Clinical and Translational Science Institute KL2 Program,
Director, Research Enhancement Award Program (SFVAMC), Geriatrician, SFVAMC
Louise.Walter@ucsf.edu
Carolyn Welty
MD Professor of Medicine, Geriatrician, Center for Geriatric Care, UCSF Carolyn.Welty@ucsf.edu
Eric Widera
MD Associate Professor of Medicine,
Director, Hospice & Palliative Care Service (SFVAMC),
Program Director, Geriatric Medicine Fellowship Program (UCSF),
Geriatrician, SFVAMC
Eric.Widera@ucsf.edu
Brie Williams
Brie Williams
MD, MS Professor of Medicine,
Geriatrician, SFVAMC
Brie.Williams@ucsf.edu
Michi Yukawa
MD, MPH Professor of Medicine,
Medical Director, Community Living Center (SFVAMC)
Michi.Yukawa@va.gov
Volunteer Faculty
Charlotte CarlsonBree Johnston MD, MPH Assistant Clinical Professor, UCSF Charlotte.Carlson@ucsf.edu
Mary Anne Johnson Mary Anne Johnson MD Clinical Professor N/A
C. Bree Johnston Bree Johnston MD, MPH, FACP Clinical Professor, UCSF Bree.Johnston@ucsf.edu
Susan Joseph MD Assistant Clinical Professor, UCSF sjoseph@smcgov.org
Namita Kansal
Namita Kansal
MD Assistant Clinical Professor, UCSF Namita.Kansal@sfdph.org
Helen Kao
MD Associate Clinical Professor, UCSF Helen.Kao@ucsf.edu
Leslie Kernisan
Leslie Kernisan

MD, MPH Clinical Instructor DrKernisan@betterhealthwhileaging.net
C. Seth Landefeld MD Professor Emeritus SethL@medicine.ucsf.edu
Claire Larson
Claire Larson
MD Assistant Clinical Professor Claire.K.Larson@gmail.com
Dandan Liu
Dandan Liu
MD Associate Clinical Professor, UCSF Dandan.Liu@ucsf.edu
Jay Luxenberg
Jay Luxenberg
MD, FACP, AGSF Clinical Professor, UCSF Jay.Luxenberg@ucsf.edu
Maryam Ziaie Matin
Maryam Ziaie Matin
MD Assistant Clinical Professor mmatin@onlok.org
James Mittelberger
MD, MPH Clinical Professor, UCSF James_Mittelberger@optum.com
Sandra Moody
MD Associate Professor of Medicine Sandra.Moody@ucsf.edu